My Progress On The Reading Challenge

It’s been a while since I posted a book review on this blog, or gave you guys an update as to how my 2015 Reading Challenge is going so far. And the reason why that section of the blog has been absent for a while is because…well… [hangs head in shame] I haven’t made much progress at all.

I tried, I really did. But then, I got sucked into the merciless abyss of ‘distractions’ which involved binge-watching animes, watching re-runs of some of my favorite shows, singing along at the top of my lungs to karaokes, and napping. Lots of napping.

giphy

I know, I know. I did wrong, so you can stop shaking your head at the screen.

I think one of the major reasons why I’m not as excited about reading books as I used to be is the fact that I have to read them off my computer screen. Since I’m not going to school at the moment and live in a country which doesn’t have a public library with the kind of books I would like to read, it means I can only read these books on my computer. Which is great! Hail technology, the internet and the fact that I have a decent laptop for a reading device. But there is one huge drawback to reading novels like this:

giphy

It takes a lot of energy to sit in front of my laptop and continuously read line after line after line of text. This is also why I’ll never get a Kindle device (well, maybe not never but it’s at the bottom of my list). Paperbacks rule. Real books are meant to be held and read while curled up on a nice sofa. I used to collect bookmarks as a kid and have several but never got the chance to use them for years now. It’s not much fun poking a flat screen with a thin bookmark and hoping it would magically go through. That is the one major reason why I don’t read as much nowadays. It hurts my eyes and frustrates my brain.

That’s why I’ve been engaging my time doing other things – some of which have sparked my creativity. Believe it or not, I get a lot of inspiration for my stories from animes. So I may not be spending my time productively as I could but I’m still not wasting it away either. At the moment, I’m watching an anime called Tokyo Ghoul which is a paranormal thriller/horror. I’ve never had the guts at attempting to write in that genre but I might after this as the anime and its story line is stirring up some ideas of my own.

Plus, I’ve also been doing lots of reading of stories on writing community websites like Protagonize and Wattpad. Although they don’t count as books that I can add to my reading challenge for the year on Goodreads, if they did, I’d be far ahead by now. If only…

The good news is I won’t be stuck in this situation for much longer. Once I head back to India and start university in June, the first thing I’ll do is find a wonderful public library, become a member and start checking out a heck-load of books. Finding the time to read them will be another issue in itself, but I think for the first couple days, I’ll just spread them around my bed and lie down amidst the company of the beautiful works of literature. I might also sniff a few (is it just me or do books smell beyond amazing?)

Until that moment arrives however, I’m going to get back to reading – slowly but surely. I managed to dig around a few unpacked boxes and found my hard copy of The Kite Runner. Maybe that’ll get me a little pumped about reading again.

In any case, I am terribly sorry for not updating this blog with more book reviews as I had been doing before, but here’s to hoping I get back on track very soon!

P.S. It’s my birthday today. So if any of you want to bite my head off or scold me for being an unworthy and uncommitted reader, I’m going to pull out the birthday card.

Leave a Reply

