Beatrice Reviews “I’ll Give You the Sun” by Jandy Nelson (Novel)

“I’ll Give You the Sun” by Jandy Nelson
★★

20820994
Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

 

Just before I had started to read this book, I had realized how much I’d been dishing out 5*s for different books and decided it was time to get serious and not give away that rating so easily. So when I started reading, I tried to keep that thought in mind and put on my micro-vision specs, determined to find at least one flaw with this book. The more I read, the more desperate I grew. I ended up fighting a battle in my mind as I gave I’ll Give You the Sun 5*s and adding it to my ‘all time favourites’ shelf on Goodreads because it is a literary masterpiece. 

Continue reading

Advertisements

Beatrice Reviews “Maybe Not” by Colleen Hoover (Novella)

“Maybe Not” by Colleen Hoover

★★
description

Colleen Hoover, the New York Times bestselling author of Maybe Someday brilliantly brings to life the story of the wonderfully hilarious and charismatic Warren in a new novella, Maybe Not.

When Warren has the opportunity to live with a female roommate, he instantly agrees. It could be an exciting change.

Or maybe not.

Especially when that roommate is the cold and seemingly calculating Bridgette. Tensions run high and tempers flare as the two can hardly stand to be in the same room together. But Warren has a theory about Bridgette: anyone who can hate with that much passion should also have the capability to love with that much passion. And he wants to be the one to test this theory.

Will Bridgette find it in herself to warm her heart to Warren and finally learn to love?

Maybe.

Maybe not.

*NOTE: This is going to be a spoiler-free review but I will be sharing some of my favorite quotes from the book, and general opinions on its’ characters, story-line, etc. No big reveals!*

“She’s mean, Warren. Probably the meanest girl I’ve ever met in my life. So if she murders you in your sleep, don’t say I didn’t warn you.”

When I read about Warren and Bridgette’s relationship in Maybe Someday, I couldn’t help but fall in love with both of them, even though they weren’t the central focus of that story. They are in this book though, and that’s why I was flippin’ out about the fact that there is an actual spin-off dedicated to those two.

description

“You kiss like you’re trying to resuscitate a dead cat,” she says, disgusted. “You kiss like you are a dead cat.”.

Warren and Bridgette have a love-hate relationship. You open the book having that piece of information about the two if you read Maybe Someday beforehand. But seeing as this novella is purely dedicated to letting us witness Warren have growing affections for his new roommate, we see sides to both of them that we never had the chance to before.

“You did smile, Bridgette,” I whisper. “And you need to own it, because it was fucking beautiful.”

There were moments that made me sigh and want to wish Warren were real so I could give him a huge hug, and moments that had me laughing really, really hard. Whatever doubts I’d had about the pair’s relationship while reading Maybe Someday vanished. Because they’re perfect for each other.

The very first chapter started off in such a way that had me shaking my head to myself in laughter, going “classic Warren”. I loved reading this story mainly because we got to learn about and explore more of other characters that hadn’t been the main focus of Maybe Someday. There’s more Brennan-interaction – which made me happy as he only appears a few times in MS. We also discover Bridgette’s full story, which for those of you who didn’t find her likable in the first book will definitely warm up to now.

Halfway through Maybe Not, we see the start of Maybe Someday‘s storyline with Sydney moving into their apartment. And while we already know what exactly is going to go down for Sydney and Ridge, we also get an extra glimpse of ‘behind-the-scene’ shenanigans through Warren’s perspective. For example, why Warren is so addicted to porn. And it’s not just cause he’s Warren, trust me.

“The only difference between falling in love and being in love is that your heart already knows how you feel, but your mind is too stubborn to admit it.”

Compared to its previous novel, Maybe Not lacks the magic and page-turning thrill that Maybe Someday provides us. But doesn’t have to be perceived as a bad thing as it’s a novella, and a light-hearted story compared to the angst-filled and emotional MS. It’s also a lot more smutty (it’s Warren and Bridgette we’re talking about here) but I saw that coming.

description

Unlike other novels *coughs* 50 Shades of Grey and Bared to You *coughs* where the sex is absolutely pointless and does NOTHING to add to the actual progression of the story – it’s justified in this case. Besides, it’s Warren-smut. *wiggles eyebrows* A definite must read for fans of Bridgette and Warren! I give Maybe Not a Warren-ful 4*s (see what I did there)!

Beatrice Reviews “Maybe Someday” by Colleen Hoover (Novel)

“Maybe Someday” by Colleen Hoover  

★★ At twenty-two years old, Sydney has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter’s cheating on her–and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by Ridge, her mysterious neighbor. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one…

*NOTE: This is going to be a spoiler-free review but I will be sharing some of my favorite quotes from the book, and general opinions on its’ characters, story-line, etc. No big reveals!*

Where do I even begin with reviewing this book? It…I… *takes a moment to calm oneself*

This is the first novel I’ve read by her and I can already begin to tell that Colleen Hoover is an author that will make it to my favourites list (if she hasn’t already made it on there with this book). After reading the blurb, I had it pegged down as another cheesy YA romance in my mind. Having read several YA love stories before, I thought I knew exactly what I was getting into when I decided to read Maybe Someday. I should have known better than to judge a book by it’s blurb, because I was completely thrown off by it. And it’s one of those rarities when you’re actually happy you were misled because the surprising read that follows is possibly one of the best you could ever get.

  “Nothing in my life has ever felt so good, yet hurt so achingly bad.”

I felt like I was on an emotional roller coaster while reading this book. There were moments when I felt like this:

And moments when I did this:

 “I’m worried that feelings are the one thing in our lives that we have absolutely no control over.” 

I have nothing against the quality of the writing and the way in which the characters’ stories are delivered to the reader. The fact that it’s written in alternating points of view between Sydney and Ridge makes the reader grip their emotions on a higher level. This book packs a punch of the feels but there are also a lot of heartwarming moments, and pure comedy in the first half of the novel that’ll have you laughing out loud (or in my case, snorting orange juice out my nose). I read it in one sitting because of a combination of several factors that made it a wonderful read. Continue reading